Arts and Crafts, Creativity, School Projects

School Projects – we rock!

This is just a reminder to my daughter that together, we can rock school projects!!  Every time we work in a school project, she FREAKS because whatever we are doing is not how she pictures it in her head. The problem is, we usually can’t recreate what’s in her head because we usually don’t have the supplies to make “life size dolls” and “what-not”. So we have to use what’s available.

This week’s assignment was to make a shoebox type float (a miniature float for a parade) about the county in our state that she was assigned. Here is the rubric –   She got Salt Lake county. She wanted to get something professionally store bought. The problem is, there aren’t a lot of SL county floats in the local stores. 😉 Then she wanted to build the whole thing out of Legos or put the float on wheels. (Great ideas, but we didn’t have the time or the supplies!) So, she was forced to use what we have at home (plus some styrofoam that I got at Walmart for $3). 

And here is her float – 

  
Why does she doubt? Our mixed creativity ROCKS!!! She did most of the float and I just helped with some basic ideas, but she put it together. 

Then she told me that next time she freaks out to show her these pictures so that she can remember that using what we have can work well, especially when we use our creativity!!!
   

That’s one happy fourth grader!!

What school projects are you doing? 

  

4 thoughts on “School Projects – we rock!”

  1. The school project we are working on is just surviving to the end of the year. Two weeks to go…… 🙂

  2. Where the heck did my avatar come from? I’ve never seen it before….and what IS it?

  3. I TOTALLY get that. When I looked at the May calendar, I was blown away by the amount of things that are scheduled this month, but I’m so happy that they are busy! Now for the book reports that are due on Tuesday. My girls are readings Harry Potter # 1. 😄

  4. Hee, hee! You like that? I programmed it to just do space aliens if the commenter didn’t have an avatar loaded in the system.

Leave a comment